Riding a motorized bike requires a license in most states in America, except for just a few. So, You can’t ride a motorized bicycle without a license in most states in America.
If you need to ride off on your bike for fun or commute to work daily, you definitely need first to get a driver’s license.
So in this blog post, we will look at the procedure for obtaining a license. We’ll also find out if these bikes can be used on sidewalks too.
Finally, we’ll look at the laws guiding the use of these bikes in various states.
Do Motorized Bicycles Need To Be Registered?
Yes, to use motorized bicycles, registration is needed.
You will be required to get a license plate and an identification card. With these two requirements, motorized bicycle riders can operate in the state without any hindrance.
How To Get A Motorized Bicycle License
The steps to get a motorized bicycle license differs in each state. We will use the New Jersey guide to demonstrate the procedure involved.
- Visit the MVC agency and complete an application to get your moped license.
- You are required to do a 6-point identity requirement.
- Then pay a fee of $5 for the examination permit.
- You are to do a vision and knowledge test.
- You are to practice with the permit for a minimum of 20 days before using the bike on the road.
- To pass the road test, you must take your ride slip and score it at the MVC agency to get your motorized driver’s license.
Can You Ride A Motorized Bicycle On The Sidewalk?
No, motorized bicycles are not allowed to be used on sidewalks.
States like Florida and Alaska have laws prohibiting its use on sidewalks and public roadways.
Also, many states have laws in place on the use of these bikes on limited access roads or roads with a minimum speed limit of 35 mph.
Motorized Bicycle Laws By State
Just as earlier said, these laws vary. It would help if you familiarized yourself with the laws in your state.
Scooters, mopeds, and motorized motorcycles are all considered motor-driven cycles in Alabama, regardless of whether their engine displacement is under or over 50cc.
A driver’s license is needed before a rider can operate the motorized bike. Additionally, the cycle must be registered with the Department of Revenue’s Motor Vehicle Division.
The accepted age for riding these bikes is 14 years and above, and you must have a helmet when riding.
Motorized bicycles in Alaska must have an engine with a capacity under 50 cc. Your motorized bike may be used on any public road, but you are not permitted to use it on a sidewalk or a bike path.
Also, a conventional driver’s license and a motorized bicycle are legal for anyone over 15.
And you must register your motorized bike with the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles to be permitted to use a motorized bicycle in Alaska.
In Arizona, you must have a driver’s license to be legally allowed to use a motorized bike. And the minimum age requirement is 16 years of age, but riders who are 18 years upwards are not mandated by the law to wear a helmet.
Arkansas state law stipulates that riders must have a valid driver’s license.
They require that riders be up to 14 years before using these bikes. They do not have any specified rules for a helmet.
In this state, riders must have a valid driver’s license and be registered the same way as motorcycles.
This demands they must equally have a license plate number. The minimum age requirement is 16 years, and you must wear a helmet when riding.
In Colorado, having a driver’s license is compulsory. And the Colorado DMV is responsible for giving these riders registration.
Here, the age requirement is 16 years and above, and all riders under 18 must wear helmets.
In this state, motorized bike riders must, of the essence, have a rider’s license, but they are not required to have registration or insurance.
The minimum age requirement is 16 years, and riders below 18 must have a helmet before operating these bikes.
A driver’s license and registration are compulsory if you use a motorized bike. And riders must be up to 16 years old. Those below 16 years must wear a helmet.
In Florida, Riders must have a valid driver’s license, but it is not mandatory to register with Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
The minimum age requirement is 16 years old, and these riders are not legally required to use a helmet.
To use a motorized bicycle, you must meet certain criteria like the engine displacement must not pass 50cc, the engine should use an automatic engine, and the bike cannot give a speed above 30mph on level ground.
However, riders in this city do not require a license to operate but must register their bike with the North Carolina DMV. Also, they must be up to 16 years old and have a helmet to operate the bicycle.
In Iowa, a motorized bicycle can only travel a distance of 39mph, and you are not allowed to carry any passenger on these bikes in the states.
Also, both hands must be on the handlebar at all times. Bike owners are required to have valid licenses and be up to 18 years of age.
In this state, motorized bicycle riders must have a valid driver’s license. The riders are not required to register their motorized bikes.
To ride a motorized bike, the individual must be at least 16 years of age, and a helmet is not mandatory in the state.
In this state, a motorized bike rider must have a valid driver’s license and be properly registered, just as a motorcycle would.
Here, the minimum age to operate a motorized bike is 15 years. Riders must use a helmet with a chin strap to operate.
Motorized bicycles in Maine must have two or three wheels with a minimum diameter of 10 inches, and operators must have either a valid driver’s license or a moped license.
In Maine, owners of powered bicycles are not required to register them. Additionally, Maine does not have a helmet law, even though it is still wise to shield your head.
Maryland motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license, and the bike must be registered.
Riders must be at least 16 years old to be permitted to use a motorized bicycle and helmet, and they are required by law to wear a helmet and protective eye gear.
Riding a motorized bike in Massachuset requires a valid driver’s license. These bikes must also be registered. Riders must be up to 16 years old to use a motorized bicycle, and a helmet is mandatory.
A valid driver’s license is mandatory in this state. They must equally register these bikes. The age requirement to operate a bike in this state is 15 years and above. However, it only requires riders under 19 to use a helmet.
The state requires that motorized bicycle riders possess a valid driver’s license, which must be registered. Then these drivers must have insurance.
The accepted age to ride this kind of bike is 15 years, and only riders below 18 are required by law to use a helmet.
In Mississippi, riders must be up to 17 years to use a motorized bike. All riders are required to wear a helmet. And they must have valid driver’s licenses and also be registered.
Riders in this city are mandated to have a driver’s license. In addition, they must be at least 16 years of age.
They are not required by law to wear helmets and don’t need to register their motorized bikes.
Riders in this state must register their motorbikes and have a valid driver’s license. These riders must be up to 16 years of age to be able to operate. Only those younger than 18 are required to wear helmets when on motorized bikes.
In Nebraska, riders must have a driver’s license or a learner’s permit to use motorized bikes. They don’t need to register their bikes unless they want to remove the pedals.
And 14 years of age is the minimum required for riders. But they are legally required to wear a helmet for protection.
Nevada laws require that motorized riders must have a driver’s license and be registered too. In this state, the minimum age requirement is 16 years, and the use of a helmet is not compulsory.
The speed limit for motorized bicycles in New Hampshire is 30 mph. Riders must register their motorized bikes and have valid driver or moped licenses.
Anyone under 18 who rides or is a passenger on a motorized bicycle is required to wear a helmet.
In this state, a motorized bike must have a driver’s or moped license. Here, riders are required to have liability insurance.
The minimum age requirement in this state is 15 years, and New Jersey laws require these riders to wear helmets.
In New Mexico, riders must possess a valid driver’s permit to operate. Here, you do not need to do any registration once you have a driver’s license. The age limit is from 15 years, and they require all riders to wear helmets.
This state classifies motorized bikes according to their speed. Classes A, B, and C. Class A has a maximum speed of 30 to 40 mph. Class B has a top speed of 20 to 30 mph, while class C has a maximum speed of 20mph.
Class A bikes can be operated in any traffic lane in the state. But classes B and C must use the right lane.
On licensing and registration, a driver’s license is needed, and you must have a registration. In addition, you are required to have insurance if you are riding a class A or B motorized bicycle.
Also, you should be 15 years of age to use a motorized bicycle in New York, and only class A and B must wear helmets.
In Vermont, motorized bicycles are limited to a 30 mph top speed. Motorized bikes need not be registered, but riders must have a driver’s license to ride one.
If you are a rider below 18 years old, you need a helmet, and riders are not permitted to transport more people than the vehicle can accommodate.
In Washington, for a bike to be considered motorized, it must have an engine that does not exceed 50cc and a speed limit of 30mph on level ground. Riders must have a valid driver’s license and register it the same way as a car.
From this blog post, it is evident that all the states require a license before one can operate a motorized bicycle, except North Carolina.
So if you are considering getting a motorized bicycle today, you must familiarize yourself with your state law.
And most importantly, get a valid driver’s license so you can enjoy your rides fully without any hindrance.
2 thoughts on “Can You Ride A Motorized Bicycle Without a License?”